And The Winner Is…

This is the story of a family who decided it was time for a change. Part 1 can be found here.

August 7th, 2013 the boys and I landed at Raleigh-Durham airport to decide if this was the place for us.

2008-07-30_RDU_welcome_sign
Source

My first impression flying in was WOW! TREES and is that downtown, with all TWO of the tall buildings!

trees
Source
Source
Source

The Husband picked us up and we were off to explore.

I was mesmerized by the tree lined highways.

Source
Source

There were a lot of firsts on this trip:

Chicken and waffles – I wasn’t blown away.   Not to mention they found a way to mess up macaroni and cheese by adding pimentos…much to my children’s delight I may add… that isn’t even the slightest bit true.  They quickly turned up their noses as they pushed the plate away and demanded politely stated, “Mother, may we partake in another item of our choosing, this mac n cheese with red things simply will not do.”  I took the napkin from my lap and delicately patted my lips as I calmly explained there were starving people in Africa and pick the red things out of the damn macaroni.  Then we went for ice cream and the macaroni sat untouched.

Source
Source

Carolina BBQ – “I don’t think you want the word “Pit” on a wedding invitation.”  I think of that quote from Father of the Bride every time.  The BBQ is “interesting” AND you had to have a reservation!  It wasn’t horrid but it wasn’t reservation worthy.  Bottom line…it just wasn’t Texas BBQ.

Source
Source

UNC-Chapel Hill – At one time in my life I had a dream of going to school at UNC to play soccer. (Truthfully, I was never that good…but a girl can dream)

Source
Source

The Durham Bulls baseball game (thanks to Jersey Girl for our amazing seats behind the dugout). Both boys were able to get their first baseballs and we were able to leave during the 4th inning as it was already a blowout. Big win for The Bulls!

photo 1photo 2photo 3

Speaking of Jersey Girl…remember when I mentioned in my last post that we knew no one in NC? It turns out my lifetime BFF in Dallas introduced me to her step-sister JerseyGirl and we were able to meet. JG showed us around and gave us good info regarding the schools and surrounding communities.

Saturday we visited a couple of farmers markets, they are the IT place to be on a Saturday morning.

Source
Source
Source
Source

Saturday night the Husband and I discussed the preceding days and our thoughts about what we saw and experienced.   We both agreed the trip was everything we needed it to be and we left for Houston the next day determined to do whatever it took to make North Carolina our new home in the upcoming year.

Source
Source

Now the fun really begins…

2 thoughts on “And The Winner Is…

Leave a comment